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Enclosed in this package are the guidelines for applications and renewal of a Concealed 
Weapons Permits and all laws pertinent to carrying a Concealed Weapon. 



MONTANA CODE ANNOTATED 

45-8-315. DEFINITION. “Concealed Weapon” means any weapon mentioned in 45-8-316 through 
45-8-318 and 45-8-321 through 45-8-328 that is wholly or partially covered by the clothing or 
wearing apparel of the person carrying or bearing the weapon, except that for purposes of 45-8-321 
through 45-8-328, concealed weapon means a handgun or a knife with a blade 4 or more inches in 
length that is wholly or partially covered by the clothing or wearing apparel of the person carrying or 
bearing the weapon. 

Compiler’s Comments 
1991 Amendment: Near beginning, after “through”, substituted “45-8-318 and 45-8-321 through 45-
8-328 that is” for “45-8-319 which shall be” and after “the weapon” inserted “except that for purposes 
of 45-8-321 through 45-8-328, concealed weapon means a handgun or knife with a blade 4 or more 
inches in length that is wholly or partially covered by the clothing or wearing apparel of the person 
carrying or bearing the weapon”; and made minor changes in style. 
Cross-References 
Weapon defined, 45-2-101(79) “Weapon” means an instrument, article, or substance that, 
regardless of its primary function, is readily capable of being used to produce death or serious bodily 
injury. 
 
45-8-321. Permit to carry concealed weapon. (1) A county sheriff shall, within 60 days after the 
filing of an application, issue a permit to carry a concealed weapon to the applicant. The permit is valid 
for 4 years from the date of issuance. An applicant must be a United States citizen or permanent lawful 
resident who is 18 years of age or older and who holds a valid Montana driver's license or other form 
of identification issued by the state that has a picture of the person identified. An applicant must have 
been a resident of the state for at least 6 months. Except as provided in subsection (2), this privilege 
may not be denied an applicant unless the applicant: 

(a) is ineligible under Montana or federal law to own, possess, or receive a firearm; 
(b) has been charged and is awaiting judgment in any state of a state or federal crime that is 

punishable by incarceration for 1 year or more; 
(c) subject to the provisions of subsection (6), has been convicted in any state or federal court of: 
(i) a crime punishable by more than 1 year of incarceration; or 
(ii) regardless of the sentence that may be imposed, a crime that includes as an element of the 

crime an act, attempted act, or threat of intentional homicide, serious bodily harm, unlawful restraint, 
sexual abuse, or sexual intercourse or contact without consent; 

(d) has been convicted under 45-8-327 or 45-8-328, unless the applicant has been pardoned or 
5 years have elapsed since the date of the conviction; 

(e) has a warrant of any state or the federal government out for the applicant's arrest; 
(f) has been adjudicated in a criminal or civil proceeding in any state or federal court to be an 

unlawful user of an intoxicating substance and is under a court order of imprisonment or other 
incarceration, probation, suspended or deferred imposition of sentence, treatment or education, or 
other conditions of release or is otherwise under state supervision; 

(g) has been adjudicated in a criminal or civil proceeding in any state or federal court to be 
mentally ill, mentally disordered, or mentally disabled and is still subject to a disposition order of that 
court; or 

(h) was dishonorably discharged from the United States armed forces. 
(2) The sheriff may deny an applicant a permit to carry a concealed weapon if the sheriff has 

reasonable cause to believe that the applicant is mentally ill, mentally disordered, or mentally disabled 
or otherwise may be a threat to the peace and good order of the community to the extent that the 
applicant should not be allowed to carry a concealed weapon. At the time an application is denied, the 
sheriff shall, unless the applicant is the subject of an active criminal investigation, give the applicant a 
written statement of the reasonable cause upon which the denial is based. 

https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0450/chapter_0080/part_0030/section_0270/0450-0080-0030-0270.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0450/chapter_0080/part_0030/section_0280/0450-0080-0030-0280.html


(3) An applicant for a permit under this section must, as a condition to issuance of the permit, be 
required by the sheriff to demonstrate familiarity with a firearm by: 

(a) completion of a hunter education or safety course approved or conducted by the department 
of fish, wildlife, and parks or a similar agency of another state; 

(b) completion of a firearms safety or training course approved or conducted by the department 
of fish, wildlife, and parks, a similar agency of another state, a national firearms association, a law 
enforcement agency, an institution of higher education, or an organization that uses instructors 
certified by a national firearms association; 

(c) completion of a law enforcement firearms safety or training course offered to or required of 
public or private law enforcement personnel and conducted or approved by a law enforcement agency; 

(d) possession of a license from another state to carry a firearm, concealed or otherwise, that is 
granted by that state upon completion of a course described in subsections (3)(a) through (3)(c); or 

(e) evidence that the applicant, during military service, was found to be qualified to operate 
firearms, including handguns. 

(4) A photocopy of a certificate of completion of a course described in subsection (3), an affidavit 
from the entity or instructor that conducted the course attesting to completion of the course, or a copy 
of any other document that attests to completion of the course and can be verified through contact 
with the entity or instructor that conducted the course creates a presumption that the applicant has 
completed a course described in subsection (3). 

(5) If the sheriff and applicant agree, the requirement in subsection (3) of demonstrating familiarity 
with a firearm may be satisfied by the applicant's passing, to the satisfaction of the sheriff or of any 
person or entity to which the sheriff delegates authority to give the test, a physical test in which the 
applicant demonstrates the applicant's familiarity with a firearm. 

(6) A person, except a person referred to in subsection (1)(c)(ii), who has been convicted of a 
felony and whose rights have been restored pursuant to Article II, section 28, of the Montana 
constitution is entitled to issuance of a concealed weapons permit if otherwise eligible. 
 
45-8-323. Denial of renewal -- revocation of permit. A permit to carry a concealed weapon may 
be revoked or its renewal denied by the sheriff of the county in which the permittee resides if 
circumstances arise that would require the sheriff to refuse to grant the permittee an original license. 
 
45-8-324. Appeal. The denial or revocation of a permit to carry a concealed weapon or refusal of a 
renewal is subject to appeal to the district court, which may consider and determine facts as well as 
law and which is not bound by any factual, legal, or other determination of the sheriff, and from that 
court to the Montana supreme court. To the extent applicable, Title 25, chapter 33, governs the 
appeal. 
 
45-8-325. Permittee change of county residence – notification to sheriff and chief of police. A 
Person with a permit to carry a concealed weapon who changes his county of residence shall within 
10 days of the change inform the sheriff’ 
s of both the old and new counties of residence of his change of residence and that he holds the 
permit. If his residence changes either from or to a city or town with a police force, he shall inform 
the chief of police in each of those cities or towns that has a police force. 
 
45-8-326. Immunity from liability. A sheriff, employee of a sheriff's office, or county is not liable 
for damages in a civil action by a person or entity claiming death, personal injury, or property 
damage arising from alleged wrongful or improper grant of, renewal of, or failure to revoke a permit 
to carry a concealed weapon, except for actions that constitute willful misconduct or gross 
negligence. 
 
45-8-327. Carrying concealed weapon while under influence. A person commits the offense of 
carrying a concealed weapon while under the influence if the person purposely or knowingly carries 
a concealed weapon while under the influence of an intoxicating substance. It is not a defense that 



the person had a valid permit to carry a concealed weapon. A person convicted of the offense shall 
be imprisoned in the county jail for a term not to exceed 6 months or be fined an amount not to 
exceed $500, or both. 
 
45-8-328. Carrying concealed weapon in prohibited place (1) A person commits the offense of 
carrying a concealed weapon in a prohibited place if the person purposely or knowingly carries a 
concealed weapon in: 

(a) a building owned or leased by the federal, state, or local government; 
(b) a bank, credit union, savings, and loan institution, or similar institution; or 
(i) using an institution’s drive-up window, automatic teller machine, or unstaffed night 

depository; or 
(ii) at or near a branch office of an institution in a mall, grocery store, or other place unless 
     the person is inside the enclosure used for the institution’s financial services or is using   
     the institution’s financial services 
(c) a room in which alcoholic beverages are sold, dispensed, and consumed under a license 

issued under Title 16 for the sale of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the 
premises 

(d) It is not a defense that the person had a valid permit to carry a concealed weapon. A 
person convicted of the offense shall be imprisoned in the county jail for a term not to 
exceed 6 months or fined an amount not to exceed $500, or both. 
 

 
Cross-References 
Offense defined, 45-2-101 



Website for the “Official Montana Firearms Safety Course” 

www.concealedcarry-ed.com/montana/ 

Get certified in 3 steps. 

1. Study and pass the $25.00 online course. 
2. Complete your application 

3. Receive your Montana permit 
 

*This class is for anyone who doesn’t have a valid hunter safety education card (if hunters ed cards have 
been lose or destroyed, replacements can be found online at myfwp.mt.gov/fwpPub/huntersEdCert) 

http://www.concealedcarry-ed.com/montana/


STATE OF MONTANA
RENEWAL OF CONCEALED WEAPONS PERMIT APPLICATION

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT: DATE:_______________

Full Name:______________________________________________________________________________
Last First Middle

Address:________________________________________________________________________________
Physical Town State Zip Code

Phone:_________________________________________________________________________________
Home Cell Business/Employer

DOB:____________________Social Security #_____________________Height:________Weight________

Hair Color:_______________ Eye Color:_______________  State Of Birth:_______________

Drivers License #:_________________________________________________

Employer Name:_________________________________________________________________________

Employer Address:_______________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________________
Applicant Signature  Date
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